Endorsements for the 2018 Maryland Elections

Vote! Credit:  PhotoStockImage / Shutterstock

We are proud to announce our endorsements in the 2018 Maryland election. Clean Water Action endorses candidates based on legislative track record as well as questionnaires and interviews. 

Primary Election: June 26, 2018

General Election: November 6, 2018

Clean Water Action is pleased to announce these endorsements in Frederick County and Howard and Carroll Counties:

Frederick County Local Elections

County Executive - Jan Gardner has a proven track record in policy as an environmental steward. Notably, she has tried to restore Frederick County's Forest Resource Ordinance to its original, better-than-minimum standard. She has sought to mitigate some of the lopsided developer agreements put in place by the previous Frederick County Commissioners.

At Large County Council - Kai Hagen and Susan Reeder Jessee

Kai Hagen is a Clean Water alumnus who has been active in Frederick County for years, serving on numerous boards and commissions and providing an excellent voice for sustainable policy and the environment. Kai has previously served on the Board of County Commissioners, before Frederick County moved to its current form of government.

Susan Reeder Jessee is a lifelong Frederick County resident who wants to see Frederick County grow and become a more economically vibrant place where people want to live and work, but see whats to make sure that this growth is managed effectively. 

District 1 County Council - Jerry Donald has been a champion for clean water issues on the Frederick County Council. On a county council where it has been very difficult to pass environmental legislation, Jerry successfully passed legislation to restore some of the stream buffer protections the previous Board of County Commissioners eliminated.

District 3 County Council - M.C. Keegan-Ayer is willing and able to undertake detailed stakeholder negotiations on legislation to craft compromise that strengthens environmental protections when possible.

District 4 County Council - Jessica Fitzwater is an asset on the Frederick County Council and a strong supporter for environmental protections. She worked with her counterparts, Jerry and M.C., to support legislation on solar facilities and stream buffers.

Frederick County General Assembly District 3

Ron Young, the incumbent state senator for District 3, is a champion for the environment in Annapolis. He has recently sponsored many Clean Water Action priorities, including an updated and improved Forest Conservation Act and legislation on mercury switches and relays. He is an advocate for Smart Growth - developing where it makes sense and preserving our prime agricultural and natural lands.

Carol Krimm and Karen Lewis Young, incumbents running for re-election in 3A, are consistent votes for pro-environmental iniatives, supporting smart growth and sustainability.

Ken Kerr, a challenger running in district 3B, has been active in public service in Frederick County, serving on the Frederick County Board of Elections, the Frederick County Parks and Recreation Commission, and teaching at Frederick Community College. One of the initiaives he would like to expand micro-farming, especially around schools, where students could learn about climate, weather, and ecology in the context of the food they eat.

Howard and Carroll County General Assembly District 9

Katie Fry Hester, running for Senate in District 9, comes from the private sector, where she has been working in corporate social responsibility. If elected, she will work with stakeholders to find solutions that incentivize smarter development, preserve our agricultural heritage, and protect our waterways.

Steve Bolen, running for the House of Delegates in District 9A, is a recent federal retiree who has a strong belief that our physical well-being stems from the world we live in: people rely on healthy environments in order to work, play, and live. He sees the importance of protecting and fighting for our clean water, air, and food for the generations to come.

Natalie Ziegler, running for the House of Delegates in District 9A, comes from a family of Howard County farmers and is looking to bring together agriculture and the environment for a local, sustainable future. She would like to see more co-beneficial practices such as incentives or cost-sharing for sustainable practices, like no-till farming or grassed waterways.

Anne Arundel County General Assembly

District 30

Sarah Elfreth, running for Senate in District 9, has a history in environmental conservation. She was the Director of Government Affairs for the National Aquarium and will come to the General Assembly with the knowledge and background needed to hit the ground running both on policy but also the nuances and technical workings of the state budget.

Alice Cain, running for delegate in District 30A, is committed to a clean environment, not just for us but also for the generations that follow. Her background is in education policy and has seen the benefits of education to teach the next generation to be good environmental stewards.

District 32

Pam Beidle, a current delegate running for the vacated District 32 Senate seat, has been a longtime champion on the General Assembly. She has served as the chair of the Transportation subcommittee on the Environment and Transportation Committee where she has served to craft legislation that works for Maryland.

Sandy Bartlett, running for delegate in District 32, will be a good successor to Delegate Beidle in the House of Delegates. While self-described as no expert in the field of environmental studies, Sandy's own foray into square foot gardens have become a part of her neighborhood fabric, demonstrating how some household waste can be diverted into sustainable gardening.

District 33

Eve Hurwitz, challenging Senator Reilly in District 33, is a veteran and entrepreneur. She is concerned about too little community input into development decisions and how they impact the quality of life and environment in the surrounding area.

Heather Bagnall, Tracie Hovernale, and Pam Luby are challenging the three sitting incumbent delegates. All three represent a new change in a delegation that does not sponsor or vote for pro-clean water legislation.

Maryland General Assembly Endorsements


District 3

Senator Ron Young
Delegate Karen Young (3A)
Delegate Carol Krimm (3A)
Ken Kerr (3B)


District 9

Katie Hester Fry
(candidate for Senate 9)
Natalie Ziegler
(candidate for Delegate 9A)
Steve Bolen
(candidate for Delegate 9A)


District 11

Delegate Dana Stein


District 12

Delegate Eric Ebersole
Delegate Terri Hill


District 13

Senator Guy Guzzone


District 14

Delegate Eric Luedtke


District 15

Senator Brian Feldman
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo


District 16

Delegate Marc Korman


District 17

Delegate Kumar Barve
Delegate Jim Gilchrist


District 18

Delegate Al Carr


District 20

Senator William Smith
Delegate David Moon


District 21

Senator Jim Rosapepe


District 22

Senator Paul Pinsky
Delegate Anne Healey


District 23B

Delegate Marvin Holmes


District 24

Senator Joanne Benson


District 28

Delegate CT Wilson


District 39

Delegate Shane Robinson


District 42A

Delegate Stephen Lafferty


District 43

Senator Joan Carter Conway


District 44B

Senator Shirley Nathan-Pulliam
Delegate Charles Sydnor
Delegate Pat Young


District 46

Senator Bill Ferguson
Delegate Luke Clippinger
Delegate Brooke Lierman
Delegate Robbyn Lewis


District 47A

Delegate Diana Fennell
Delegate Jimmy Tarlau